The Church-Museum of San Francesco was built between 1335 and 1338 by the Friars Minor and is the third Franciscan settlement in the Montefalco area, although it is the first within the walls.
It was officiated by the friars until 1863 when the church was given to the Municipality of Montefalco and in 1895 it became the seat of the Civic Museum
The church has a rectangular floor plan and comprises a central nave ending in a pentagonal apse, with two rectangular chapels on either side. The side aisle was created in the 17th century by demolishing the side walls of individual chapels built from the 14th century onwards. The painted surface was frescoed between the 14th and 16th centuries by famous artists, including Benozzo Gozzoli and Pietro Vannucci, known as Il Perugino.
With a pentagonal layout and a ribbed vault resting on fully-figured corbels, the apse is preceded by a carved, painted and gilded wooden pergola commissioned by Niccolò Zuccarini. Although there is no documentary evidence, the Chancel, which comprises 16 wooden stalls, was built at the end of the 19th century.
MUSA - MUSEO ALWAYS OPEN
The virtual visit will allow you to visit our museum with complete additional information at an incredible cost
18/07/2025
From July to September 2025, themed weekend tours of the San Francesco Museum Complex and the city of Montefalco will allow you to discover its cultural and historical heritage. An unmissable opportunity to experience Montefalco authentically, amidst art, faith, tradition, and beauty.
04/07/2025
The San Francesco Museum Complex hosts the works of four artists: Annie Hsiao-Ching Wang and Karen Hui-Yu Lo, originally from Taiwan, and the Italians Frank Dituri and Mauro Manetti. The themes they address are, on the one hand, female identity and family conflict, and on the other, the transcendental dimension. Toward a poetic horizon.
04/07/2025
The exhibition of the triptych 'Virgin and Child Enthroned with Saints and Scenes from the Life of the Virgin and Saint Clare', a work by Giovanni di Corraduccio, owned by the Fondazione Cassa di Risparmio di Foligno, will open on Friday 4 July 2025 at 11 a.m. inside the Church of San Francesco di Montefalco.
Staff Museo
31/10/2024
The Municipality of Montefalco, in collaboration with Eclipsis Style Project, as part of the festival dedicated entirely to oil called 'AMOLOLIO' presents the exhibition of the master Sergio Favotto, one of the few artists of monumental art recognized at an international level.
Staff Museo
15/04/2024
An engaging immersive and sensorial journey, which starts from the ancient Franciscan cellars to discover the territory.
Inauguration: Saturday 20 April 2024, 11.30 am
Staff Museo
18/12/2023
At the Montefalco Museum until March 3rd the evocative photographic exhibition dedicated to the cultural heritage of Umbria, the result of the editorial project by Elvio Lunghi and Giovanni Tarpani.